Launch a podcast?!?

Podcast

Launch a podcast?!? Crazy, right? How do you start? How do you get guests? Do you need a co-host?

Well, the journey has been beautiful. I cannot be more grateful about implementing an idea that was trapped in my mind for so long. Most of all, you should always be “networking” (basically meeting people and being friendly) in order to understand what people are about and refine your message & goals when speaking to so many ambitious individuals. My pocket ace was a cool gentleman who is a friend and fellow podcaster, Will Boyd. Also, shout outs to fellow podcasters who answered my questions, including Alex Engar, Jared Aguilar, and Brandon Poenn. The one piece of advice I really want to hone in on is… just do it! Literally. What a ride it has been! A podcast is a great platform for whatever idea you have! The best part is how this gives you an “in” for chatting with really cool and interesting people! You can totally do this yourself! Whatever doubts you have, honestly, they will melt away when you start! As you continue to get the reps in, things get easier and you figure out how stuff works out.

So what are some practical things? Well, I learned the technical side of all the tasks that need to be done. Ask Will Boyd! Speaking with several guests, I soon learned about what difficulties they faced and how the overall experience was for them. I would say the fundamental concepts when interacting with people is the real difficulty of scheduling (thanks Calendly), deadlines for editing and prepping everything, and any additional experiences. This could include the little details in the episode description, doing a custom pic (I use Photoshop but Canva works too), and setting up a Facebook community for more engagement (shout outs again to Alex Engar). As with any business or organization, begin with a vision and a mission. When in doubt, this is where you turn to see if a guest is able to contribute and if your questions will yield the answers listeners seek.

What were my biggest fears holding me back? Why did I (looking back now) essentially waste 2 hours of my time to talk it out when I already knew what I wanted to do and definitely had the technical saavy to figure things out? I was afraid that I would be rejected. I was afraid that I would be unable to convince anyone to hop on my podcast while I was growing & developing my skills. I was scared that I would be unable to convince inspirational individuals to join me on a platform that is unfamiliar to them, especially when we do not know each other in person and I don’t have “evidence” to back up my vision. What a pleasant surprise it was to be proven wrong! Most of all, shout outs to Taylor Petrick, fellow Smart Success PT student, who was courageous enough to share her story about living with MS (Multiple Sclerosis) as a DPT student. Although not every ask was a “yes”, I greatly appreciated the opportunities that unfolded and will never forget the individuals who were open when I had my own reservations and doubts. So if you have an idea, just do it! A podcast is honestly not that difficult to launch. As always, if you have any questions, feel free to reach out to me! Hope to catch you in the next episode of the Capable Body Podcast (click image below to catch up)! Join the active Facebook community!

Capable-Body

3 thoughts on “Launch a podcast?!?”

Leave a Reply

